Twitter’s New ‘Retweet’ Feature

Twitter has now rolled out its beta retweet feature to most users. Not all of them are happy about it. You will know if you have it when you go to your Twitter home page, where you will find a notice describing the new feature.

Formerly, you could pass along a tweet of interest by adding “RT” to it. It would go out under your name and you could add your own comments to the retweet.

Under the new feature, a new “Retweet” button is added to the existing “Reply” button under each tweet that appears in your timeline. When you click this Retweet button, it forwards the original tweet to your followers, but under the name of the original tweeter. You are not able to add your own comments — it is forwarded just as it was posted. The retweeted post bears a new icon showing a set of circular arrows, which is how you identify it as a retweet. At the bottom of the retweet is the name of the person who forwarded it.

The plus side of this is that it is easy to use and has the effect of exposing tweeters to an audience beyond their followers. The negative side is the inability to comment on the retweet, which I often like to do.

That said, you can still retweet the old way — by adding RT to a post.